Download the 2017 John Marley Scholarship information and application here.
The deadline for essay, application and other forms must be postmarked by May 1, 2017 – no exceptions.
The topic for the 2017 essay is – How has the Tribal Gaming Industry changed or effected your life and community?

Meet the scholarship winners here.

For information for 2017 scholarships, please contact

John Marley Scholarship

“In a time of turbulence and change, it is more true than ever that knowledge is power.” John F. Kennedy, address at the University of California, Berkeley (March 23, 1962)

Seeking to provide educational opportunities for OIGA member employees and their families, the Oklahoma Indian Gaming Association established the John Marley Scholarship Foundation in 2008. A 501(c)3 corporation dedicated to the search for knowledge, the John Marley Scholarship Foundation provides scholarships for eligible individuals to attend accredited colleges, universities and trade schools in Oklahoma or other states.

The Foundation is named after John Marley, a man instrumental in the development of the Association. A salesman by trade, John Marley has preached the importance of education, and sharing knowledge, to Association members since its founding. Marley has been a vendor of everything from bingo daubers to electronic games in his more than 20 years in Oklahoma; but to many he has been much more: a friend, a counselor, and a mentor who has always put the interests of Oklahoma Indian gaming above all else. A recognizable voice and a smiling face at tribal activities throughout the State, Marley has become known for his passionate voice; encouraging tribal members to take a bigger role in the success of their gaming operations. John Marley represents the goals of the foundation, and it is fitting that the Foundation bears his name.

The John Marley Scholarship Foundation provides scholarships for OIGA member employees and members of their families who meet certain minimum requirements, who complete an application and who are selected by the Foundation’s board to receive a scholarship.